## **BURN PERMIT - JUAB SPECIAL SERVICE FIRE DISTRICT**

Burn permits are required within the Juab Special Service Fire District boundaries which encompasses all of Juab County. Permits must be obtained prior to any open burning by contacting the Utah State Division of Air Quality at:

<u>http://www.airquality.utah.gov/Compliance/OpenBurning/index.htm</u>, look under Quick Links, then choose the Link for "Open Burn Permit Application", or call: (801) 536-4000. <u>Please note: it may take up to 14 days</u> from the date of request to receive an open burn permit if a hard copy is submitted for processing.

The period from June 1st through October 31st annually is designated as a closed Fire Season by the State of Utah. Burn permits will be issued during this time only in very limited circumstances such as when considered necessary and safe to mitigate fire threat and risk to life or property.

Permits may be issued annually <u>between March 30 and May 30</u> and between September 15 and October 30 only if conditions allow.

## Permits are issued provided the following conditions are met.

- Approved burning allows residents to burn <u>only</u> clippings, bushes, plants, grass, leaves, limbs and other prunings. State Law (R307-202) prohibits burning of household waste, construction and demolition waste, milled lumber of any kind, cardboard, trash, cloth, rubbish, tires, plastics, chemicals or liquid fuels and petroleum products. Petroleum products <u>may not</u> be used to start fires.
- 2. Materials to be burned must be thoroughly dry.
- 3. State Law (R307-202) requires the Utah Clearing Index be verified which must be above 500 when burning. The Clearing Index can be obtained by telephone at: 1-801-524-5133 or via the Internet at: <a href="http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/slc/projects/ifp/html/webSMF\_new.php">http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/slc/projects/ifp/html/webSMF\_new.php</a> State Law (65A-8-9) requires that you notify your city police department (if they have a dispatch service) or the Sheriff's dispatch at: 435-623-1349 prior to any burning and inform them of your intent to burn. Failure to notify of the burning is a class B misdemeanor and you may be liable for Fire response costs. Notification is required for all agricultural burns.
- 4. Burning shall not be conducted within 50 feet of any structure or combustible material. The permittee shall not burn or build a fire in a wind and the permittee shall not burn any brush, grass, or flammable material within fifty (50) feet of any standing forest, brush, grass, or flammable material, unless this permit expressly provides for a lesser distance. Where it is necessary for the protection of public safety or to prevent the spread of such fire, this permit may specify a reasonable distance greater than the aforesaid fifty (50) feet. Other conditions, precautions or stipulations necessary to prevent the spread of such fire may be prescribed below by the fire official issuing this permit.
- 5. All flammable vegetation shall be cleared within a 10-foot radius of fire.
- 6. Persons burning shall have a garden hose available and connected to a water supply or approved fire extinguishing equipment shall be available during the burning.
- 7. Burning material shall be constantly attended by a responsible adult until the fire has been extinguished.
- 8. There shall be no burning at night.

When authorized to burn, please be considerate of your neighbors. Be aware of smoke drifting towards and into your neighbors' homes. If the Fire Department is asked to respond, and if it is determined that the fire is a nuisance, the Fire Department will extinguish the fire.

The burning permit does not relieve an individual from personal liability due to neglect or incompetence. Any person burning has a responsibility to establish adequate fire breaks and to take whatever other measures are necessary to insure that the fire is properly controlled. If the fire spreads to another person's property, the person starting the fire shall be responsible for payment of the costs of the suppression action and may also be liable for damages to the other person's property.

If you have any questions, please call your local Fire Chief or the County Fire Warden.